Blitzbokke Crowned Champions In Dubai

Photo by Mike Lee/KLC fotos for World Rugby

The Springbok Sevens team opened the 2019/2020 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in perfect fashion by claiming the opening tournament of 10 at The Sevens Stadium in Dubai on Saturday.

In their first match on the final day, the Springbok Sevens side scored two first half tries and then defended strongly to secure a 12-5 win over a very physical Argentina in the Cup quarter-finals of the Emirates Airline Dubai Sevens.

The semi-final against Samoa was a tight affair in the opening minutes. The Pacific Islanders kept the ball from the kick-off and were rewarded for their patience on attack when Paul Scanlan scored under the sticks. Tomasi Alosio converted to give the men in blue an early lead. Six tries by a rampant South Africans followed though – three in the first half to hand them a 19-7 lead at the break, and three in the second, as the Blitzboks eased away from the Samoans into the final with a 38-7 win.

The Springbok Sevens team outplayed New Zealand 15-0 in a pulsating final of the Emirates Airline Dubai Sevens, which saw them winning the title for a seventh time.cThe Blitzboks held a 5-0 lead at the break after Siviwe Soyizwapi finally managed to break down the New Zealand defence in the final play of the half. Before that, both Chris Dry and Zain Davids came close to getting the first points, with Dry losing the ball over the line and Davids held up after going over.

The second half was more of the same, with both teams attacking to get the crucial try. That belonged to Dry, who found himself on the wing and in open space. Trailing by 10 points and with time running out, New Zealand’s hand was forced and when they spilled the bal, Seabelo Senatla kicked ahead, regathered and scored what proved to be the final nail in NZ’s coffin.



South Africa: Tries: Siviwe Soyizwapi, Chris Dry, Seabelo Senatla.


South Africa: Tries: Zain Davids, Chris Dry, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Seabelo Senatla, Ruhan Nel, Selvyn Davids. Conversions: Justin Geduld (2), Davids (2).

Samoa: Try: Paul Scanlan. Conversion: Tomasi Alosio.


South Africa: Tries: Justin Geduld, Rosko Specman. Conversion: Geduld.

Argentina: Try: Matias Osadczuk.